Short first impressions of the city

What comes to your mind when you think "Brasil"? Yeah, sun! Well, I knew it is winter here in SP, but it rains and rains and rains. According to the forecast, it will continue so for the next three days. 

Anyway, I had a great first day which I spent with two friends who showed me round the city and downtown.

A chaotic, vital, non-agressive but fast atmosphere makes up a true urban experience here. It is wise not to use the metro in the rush hours if you are not a friend of extremly packed small rooms. The metro uses mifare RFiD cards apparently and people are using it as if it always was there. Interestingly there is no need to present it at the exit, only at the entrance.

I am fascinated by the high buildings from different periods of the city. Some are not used, a lot have been squatted and evicted.

different periods in one row

 A nice view in one row of the different styles of buildings, somewhere downtown.

 

A juice bar with nice patterns

The choice of fruits is great and so the fresh made juices. In this nice juice bar  I had the first acai drink ever.

 

This entry was posted in São Paulo. Bookmark the permalink.