Bye Lahore

Returning to Delhi by plane was another experience:

Passing two checkpoints with gunman, having showed my ticket and passport 12 times before being in the inner part of the airport (before the gates), having my handbag manually checked, while chatting with the security guard about Northern Ireland (it was him who started to talk about it), not being allowed to take a lighter with me, I sat down in some restaurant kind of lounge thing at Lahore airport.

I asked if I can smoke somewhere in the airport and the waiter immediately brought me a matchbox, which i would then carry onto the plane. 

Although I never feld uncomfortable in Lahore, I also was never fully relaxed. The Peshawar bombing on wednesday which took the lives of 110 was just another sad event and I really don’t know what Pakistan will be in the coming years. It is the country with the most armed people standing around in public I have ever seen. 

It was great having been there and now being able to make up my own mind about it. But I have no idea how Pakistan will solve all the issues it faces. 

Now I am back in Delhi, from where I will leave on wednesday back home after three and a half months of travelling. Bakery

The people are very poor, while a small elite pursues an american lifestyle. 

Pakistan is ranked the third lowest country in regard to gender equality. This is not an islamic issue alone (if at all). It is another indicator of very bad governance and not enough access to education. 

Street in Lahore

 

This entry was posted in Lahore. Bookmark the permalink.