The Border Ceremony

On my last evening in Lahore, I went to the Wagah border, which I had passed by bus coming from Delhi. There, every evening the "Border Ceremony" is being held.

The Border Ceremony

 I was located on the Pakistani side. Here is the gate to India and behind is the Indian crowd, outnumbering the Pakistani crowd. On both sides, patriotic slogans are shouted and songs sung.

The Border Ceremony

The male Pakistani crowd.

The Border Ceremony

And the females. 

The procedure starts as soldiers, dressed with old fashioned uniforms and interesting hats, march towards the other side, in a choreographic manner. 

Finally the doors open and soldiers from both sides do some ballet-like dance in synchronous way.

The Border Ceremony

This fellows job is to make sure that people are getting into it and shout and sing "Pakistan"

The Border Ceremony

In regard to the very complicated relations between both countries, this ceremony is outstanding. Of course it is deeply patriotic and it is also some contest in "who is the better in applauding one’s soldiers" etc. But I also observed the fun and entertaining factor. It has elements of a cricket game. 

I have had a very good time there, returning with a smile on my face about the subcontinent once again. 

This entry was posted in Lahore. Bookmark the permalink.